My Winter Beauty Saviours

I don’t know anybody who would say that their skin is at its best in the winter. Months of air conditioning, central heating and biting cold leave my skin dry, dull and aggravated and I’m almost certain I’m not in the minority.

By nature my skin is sensitive, pale and dry. A winning combo if ever there was one… However, as I’m getting a little older I’ve found it’s settled in to a rhythm which I would mostly attribute to the settling of my hormones. I’ve found the skin on my face is now less oily and breakouts are fewer and further between, which I’m thankful for.

I’ve discovered some absolute gems recently and re-discovered a few old favourites too. I’m not alone in being conscious of what I put on my skin and would always prefer a product to contain predominantly natural products. As well as feeling like I’m making the ‘right’ choice my skin will always react far more favourably to something with a natural base so for me, the proof is in the pudding.

Some of the products below are a bit of a splurge but equally I love a bargain so have included some you can pick up for under a tenner.

Weleda Skin Food


This was a Christmas gift from my sister and to be honest I was a little sceptical that it might be a bit heavy for my skin. I was wrong! This little wonder-tube is now very rarely out of my reach and has become my go-to for dry skin everywhere.

If you are going to use this on your face then just keep in mind that a little will go a long way. Warm it up between your finger tips and then smooth in to a clean face before bed for dewy morning skin. It’s also incredible on lips, elbows, knees, heels and hands for a deeply nourishing hit of moisture.

The smell is very natural and herby which I love but I have read some reviews which hinted at it being a little medicinal. For under £10 this is one of the best balms I’ve ever used.

Dr Haushka Lavender & Sandalwood Body Milk

Call me an old granny but I am a total sucker for anything Lavender scented. I’ve used and loved Dr Haushka’s body milk before but had forgotten quite how good it is. It is rich but not greasy and sinks in almost immediately. This is keeping my skin going through these dark January days and the scent is comforting and homely. Their lemon one is my favourite and is especially refreshing in the summer.


Aesop Reverence Aromatique Hand Wash

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t purchase this primarily for the bottle (!) but have been pleasantly surprised at its versatility. This formula contains finely milled pumice for a slightly exfoliating affect and the botanicals (Bergamot and Grapefruit amongst others) are right up my street. The first time I used it my hands felt super soft, smelled amazing and I didn’t have to instantly moisturise them straight away, which is unusual.

Now, bear with me on this one but having run out of face wash just after Christmas I thought I’d give this a whirl and I am so glad I did. I now pinch it from beside the sink 2 or 3 times a week and take it in to the shower to use as a face scrub. It’s gentle enough to get rid of dull and flaky skin but isn’t drying or too scratchy.

Almond Oil

 

It took me a while to come around to almond oil as again I thought it would be too much for my skin but I’m now officially a convert. I use it once a week after a long soak for a deep-down dose of goodness for my skin. Don’t do what I did and put it in the bath water. The scrubbing and potential broken limbs from trying to stand up in the tub are seriously not worth it. Instead just slather it on straight after a hot bath just before bed.

This is a fantastic value, natural option for a real skin overhaul and come the summer I’ve heard it can do wonders for dry hair too.

Keihl’s Ultra Face Cream

 

This product won’t be new to a lot of you and I’m left still wondering why it took me quite so long to discover it? For my stupidly over-sensitive skin this delivers prolonged hydration and comfort without being remotely greasy or heavy. I can see this being my favourite for a long time to come.

Nuxe Nuxellence Jeunesse
 

This is the product I reach for to perk up my under eye area. I also combine it with my foundation (Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua) on the back of my hand to make it blend really easily and to give my skin a little lift first thing. It smells lovely and for me is a rival to Clarins Beauty Flash Balm.

Have you got any winter favourites I’m missing out on? I seriously love nothing more than trying new products and find an unnatural amount of joy in reading reviews online so please do fire away!

Leave a Reply

