Vintage wall maps | what I’m loving

I love vintage wall maps for so many reasons and have amassed quite a collection over the past couple of years. They’re fairly easy to come by at flea markets or online so if you’re on the lookout for one, I’d start with somewhere like eBay or Etsy.

They are normally pretty big so are great wall coverage is you’ve got a big space to fill. Their colours are normally fairly muted too so they’ll generally fit in with any colour scheme you’ve got going on. I also just love their signs of wear and tear which gives them real character.

Here’s some of my favourites from around the house…

this map centres on Asia with the UK being on the top left corner. I really love the lettering on this map and that it says Mt Himalayas across the centre.
this map of Paris came from the back of a really old travel guide. We framed it as the paper was really thin and fragile.
my dad gave me this oilcloth map of England and Wales last year and I just love it. The colours of this map are especially faded and earthy.
this map of Scandinavia is the most modern in my collection and the colours really reflect that. Interestingly this map shows all of the types of industry in those countries.
this map of Europe is my favourite and if i could only choose one item to save , this would be it. It was made in London in 1946 and has a lovely crackled texture to the oilcloth.

Some maps can fetch a lot of money but I don’t collect them for their value particularly. Generally you will find the thick card maps more commonly than the oilcloth ones and their prices will reflect that. French school maps of Europe are the ones I see most frequently and I wouldn’t expect to pay more than £30 – £40 for one. They’re often double-sided too so you pick and choose which side you prefer, or turn them around to keep things fresh. The oilcloth maps are becoming increasingly rare so if you see one you like, my advice would be to buy it as you may never find one again!

I have also seen some beautiful wrapping papers and posters which look just like vintage maps which are only a couple of pounds each and would look really smart when framed. So if you’re after the look without splashing the cash this is a great option.

If you love to travel or just have a serious case of wanderlust I think decorating your living space with maps is a great way to reflect this. They’re so intricate that you can spend ages studying them, people often comment on them when they visit us and they’re always a topic I’m happy to ramble on about (as you might have guessed by now)!

Leave a Reply

